Empathy

Once upon a time I had an employee request bereavement leave for her grandfather’s Imagedeath.  She was a very young 18 and clearly distraught.  I was not much older than her at the time and could relate because I had lost both of my grandfathers.  She was near hysteria as we were discussing the specifics.  I assured her I would take care of everything with minimal action required on her part, don’t worry about your position or what’s happening here, just grieve and keep in touch if you would like to extend your leave with vacation time.  At this point in the conversation she said, “Three days should be enough.  He was castrated so there will just be a small memorial service.”  My initial reaction was one of disbelief… WHAT did I just hear?!?!?!!  Luckily my next reaction was not to laugh, I simply mumbled something about being sorry for her loss and reassuring her I would take care of everything.  Later, during a department meeting surrounded by my very supportive and disbelieving HR fellows, I was laughing so hard I was crying.  This poor girl was so distraught and clearly had no idea that the word she was searching for was cremated not castrated.  

Employees have a wide range of issues.  Once you’ve been in HR for awhile you’ve seen them all… from the individual who has the sixth family member diagnosed with cancer to the one who calls in sick because their hamster has a cough.

Don’t ever laugh at them.

It sounds ridiculous, but it needs to be said.  You’re there to gain and keep employees’ trust.  The only time they ever speak to you may be when they’re having their first child or inquiring about catastrophic insurance for a spouse’s terminal illness.  For the most important times of their lives, HR is there.  It doesn’t matter if you think it’s ridiculous that they need a day off because their dog ran away and they’re traumatized.  It’s important to them and you need to give them respect in their time of need.  These are the times you reach out to your HR network and share your disbelief with a sympathetic HR Pro.

What mind-boggling requests/accommodations have you received?

Leave a comment